World Hunger Day 28th May

Solution for hunger lies in proper distribution

The biggest enemy within – the hunger of millions

India has failed to address unpardonable sin of letting the bumper crops and huge dumps of grains rot, when millions of Indians battle with endemic hunger and lack of access of food

World Food Summit 1996 defined food security as access to sufficient, safe and nutrition food to maintain healthy and active life

Global Hunger Index released by International Food Policy Research Institute ranks India at 66th position out of 88 most vulnerable countries

Farmers are the most who face food crisis. The main reason is the negligence by the economy to agricultural sector and continuous subsidization of manufacturing and service sector at the cost of primary sector

In years 2009-10 2010-11 and 2011-12, country has seen record grain production. If this has been procured and distributed efficiently it would have been sufficient to provide enough calories for the whole population. But there is poor procurement, wastage of millions of tons of food grains that will rot in railway yards, FCI godowns across the country

Facts and figures proclaim surplus, but government is making hunger and low production the reasons for pushing up a series of techno-fix solutions. We see solutions in Northern style Agro-Business Corporations which rose as a result of Green Revolution. This model propagated across the county, spelt rapid depletion of the natural resources for farming – soil, water and biodiversity and resulted in indebted farmers and bad results for health

GM crops introduced are controversial all over the world. One main reason is shifting of control of seeds and fertilizers to MNC s and corporate intermediaries because of the patents and royalties along with this health risks to humans and evolution of new pests and diseases. So, question is what ensures us about the potential disasters to life and environment, when they emerge a decade or so later?

Increasing production is not the only solution for hunger in unequal society

We need to ensure that people in agriculture lead to economically secure society. A rationally calculated minimal support price is non-negotiable. Agricultural labors and farmers must have purchasing power for their own food security needs

Campaign of Universal Food Entitlement through PDS is must. Undistributed grains must be moved to people immediately. Increase Universal Allocation under Food Bill


20 Comments on “World Hunger Day 28th May”

  1. Superb post however I was wondering if you could write a litte more on this subject? I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit further. Bless you!

  2. Hey there! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the great work!

  3. Hey there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my facebook group? There’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Cheers

  4. Do you have a spam issue on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was curious about your situation; many of us have created some nice methods and we are looking to swap strategies with others, why not shoot me an email if interested.

  5. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an extremely long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyway, just wanted to say superb blog!

  6. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  7. Hi! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My weblog looks weird when browsing from my apple iphone. I’m trying to find a theme or plugin that might be able to fix this problem. If you have any recommendations, please share. Cheers!

  8. magazines says:

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your website? My website is in the very same area of interest as yours and my visitors would certainly benefit from some of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this alright with you. Thanks!

  9. Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having a tough time locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an email. I’ve got some ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it develop over time.

  10. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  11. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was wondering what all is required to get setup? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very web savvy so I’m not 100% positive. Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated. Cheers

  12. Hmm it seems like your site ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any recommendations for first-time blog writers? I’d really appreciate it.

  13. Very good blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring writers? I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any suggestions? Kudos!

  14. Wow! This blog looks just like my old one! It’s on a totally different subject but it has pretty much the same page layout and design. Excellent choice of colors!

  15. Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your content seem to be running off the screen in Opera. I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know. The design and style look great though! Hope you get the problem resolved soon. Cheers

  16. the real estate market is doing better hopefully we will have the quantity of building permits continue to keep increase

  17. toptan says:

    I appreciate, cause I found exactly what I was looking for. You have ended my 4 day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day. Bye

  18. toptan says:

    I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a nice blog like this one these days..

  19. Good post. I learn something new and challenging on websites I stumbleupon on a daily basis. It will always be exciting to read articles from other writers and use a little something from other sites.

  20. Andrew Pelt says:

    Between me and my husband we’ve owned more MP3 players over the years than I can count, including Sansas, iRivers, iPods (classic & touch), the Ibiza Rhapsody, etc. But, the last few years I’ve settled down to one line of players. Why? Because I was happy to discover how well-designed and fun to use the underappreciated (and widely mocked) Zunes are.


Leave a comment