Corruption in Coal

The increase in corruption in coal is closely linked to the increasing importance of this mineral in the economy and of the industry in political funding

When the coal industry began, it was distant from politics. But as it transited through its four distinct phases, that connection became progressively stronger, and culminated in the 2005-10 allotments

PRENATIONALISATION TILL 1973

Coal mines were controlled by local mafias and business families, some of whom were asked by the Centre to step in after the British left

This arrangement had its problems

Miners were not selling to core users (namely, power, steel and cement), but to whoever could pay the most

Some would shut down the mine whenever it was not profitable for them

Labour, too, was treated harshly

In some cases, like the Dhanbad coal mafia, the miners entered politics. But the reasons were mainly to protect their own local interests by controlling the appointment of local bureaucrats, etc

NATIONALISATION 1973-93

Indira Gandhi nationalized coal. Coking coal in 1973 and non-coking coal in 1974-75and brought everything under CIL and its subsidiaries

To exploit coal more scientifically and increase production; to curb unethical practices; and to take better care of employees and develop nearby communities

However, with nationalization, the presence of politicians also increased

Ripple effects followed

CIL and its subsidiaries began under-reporting production

They would take out 15 MT and report only 10 MT. The remaining 5 MT would be sold in the open market, with proceeds distributed between the ministers, the management, etc

New ways to siphon off coal were found. Like through coal washeries. Indian coal contains 40-52 % ash and needs to be washed

Some would divert to the open market part of the coal that came to them for washing, and report it to the coal PSUs as ash. Another form of corruption was in sales. Employees of coal companies demanded payments from users, or users were willing to pay, for supply of good coal. Whenever we complain about this, we are told we should stop taking coal from CIL if we are so unhappy with what we get

RISE OF CAPTIVE BLOCKS 1993-2005

Three amendments to the Coal Mine (Nationalization) Act in 1976, 1993 and 1996 saw the private sector return to coal mining

Private companies could not extract coal for sale to others, but they were allowed to own and mine blocks for captive use to feed their power, steel and cement plants, and for coal gasification


EXPLOSION IN CAPTIVE BLOCKS 2005-10

Between 2005 and 2009,138 blocks were given to private players an average of 28 a year

One, the government initiated reforms in the power sector. A stampede into power generation ensued. The Planning Commission had envisaged the addition of 100,000 MW during the 12th plan period (2012-17).About 84% of this is coal-based.

Two, in the second half of the decade, China and the rest of the world shifted gears, and commodities became more valued. In India, as CIL struggled to meet demand, coal imports increased. But these were at prices higher than the inelastic, government-set CIL prices. As global coal prices rose from $56 per tonne in 2005 to $98 per tonne in 2008companies interest in captive blocks spiked

Captive coal works out 57-76 % cheaper than coal from other sources

In the absence of a bidding mechanism, allotments were decided by a screening committee, which was headed by the coal secretary, with representation from states and other ministries concerned. Discretion was embedded in the allotment process. the criteria are so broad that any decision can be justified, the Ashok Chawla committee on allocation of natural resources had said in May 2011

Choosing one winner from 10-50 applicants increased the importance of bureaucrats, ministers and politicians. The nature of political rent-seeking from coal expanded into the first of three new directions: discretionary allotment of blocks

If there are three companies in the running and one gets through to a secretary, the other two try and go even higher to a minister. A parallel system of auctions started which company would pay the most for a block

The second direction political rent-seeking expanded into was clearances. Before starting production, a company needs clearances from the coal ministry, environment ministry and the state where the mine is located. This process is rife with red tape and corruption

Thirdly, politicians are coming closer to the coal business, with their extended family having an equity or business interest

Source: ET

21 Comments on “Corruption in Coal”

  1. Hi! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I really enjoy reading your articles. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same subjects? Thanks for your time!

  2. I really like what you guys tend to be up too. This sort of clever work and coverage! Keep up the terrific works guys I’ve included you guys to blogroll.

  3. Good day! Would you mind if I share your blog with my twitter group? There’s a lot of folks that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Thank you

  4. Hey! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this site? I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform. I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  5. At this time it appears like Expression Engine is the best blogging platform out there right now. (from what I’ve read) Is that what you are using on your blog?

  6. With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright infringement? My site has a lot of completely unique content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my authorization. Do you know any ways to help reduce content from being stolen? I’d truly appreciate it.

  7. cat hammock says:

    Wonderful blog! I found it while browsing on Yahoo News. Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Cheers

  8. We stumbled over here coming from a different web page and thought I might check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to looking over your web page for a second time.

  9. makeup says:

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a author for your site. You have some really good posts and I feel I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d really like to write some articles for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please blast me an e-mail if interested. Thanks!

  10. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this outstanding blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to brand new updates and will share this website with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

  11. Hello! I’ve been following your web site for a while now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Houston Texas! Just wanted to say keep up the fantastic work!

  12. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this website. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very difficult to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appearance. I must say you’ve done a awesome job with this. Also, the blog loads extremely quick for me on Safari. Exceptional Blog!

  13. Wonderful blog you have here but I was curious if you knew of any community forums that cover the same topics discussed here? I’d really like to be a part of online community where I can get suggestions from other knowledgeable people that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Thank you!

  14. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an really long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyways, just wanted to say superb blog!

  15. With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright violation? My blog has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my permission. Do you know any methods to help stop content from being ripped off? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

  16. I was wondering if you ever considered changing the structure of your blog? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or 2 pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

  17. Fertighaus says:

    It’s actually a nice and useful piece of information. I am glad that you shared this helpful info with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  18. Currently it appears like Drupal is the preferred blogging platform out there right now. (from what I’ve read) Is that what you are using on your blog?

  19. Howdy! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us valuable information to work on. You have done a outstanding job!

  20. Hi there! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist with SEO? I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good success. If you know of any please share. Thank you!

  21. Yesterday, while I was at work, my sister stole my apple ipad and tested to see if it can survive a 40 foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My apple ipad is now broken and she has 83 views. I know this is totally off topic but I had to share it with someone!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.